DEEP POOL   Leave a comment

I am not one to make New Year’s resolutions, as I’ve posted here before.  But this year I seem led to seek God’s will and plan and purpose for my life to a level I have not experienced before.  I want to live the way He wants me to live, and be the kind of light that He wants me to be, where He has placed me.

As I was praying today I thought about a deep pool.  Picture a tall hillside.  It is rocky, but covered densely in trees and brush.  There is a tall waterfall, seeming to come down from heaven.  It is falling straight into a natural pool.  The pool is wide and deep, and at the far end where it narrows a bit, the water spills out into another waterfall that falls into another pool, which falls into another pool, and so on.

The first waterfall is the presence of God, His blessings, the empowerment of God to me.  He pours down His wisdom, his discernment, his knowledge.  His blessings flow, and His peace, and His grace.  The water is His love and patience (oh, so much patience!) flowing down, pouring into the pool.  The water is the presence of the Holy Spirit, the gifts and fruits of the Holy Spirit.  The pool holds the water, swirls all of it around, and embraces it between the banks.  But it does not keep all this.  No, all those things make their way to the far end of the pool, where they find an opening, an outlet, and flow and splash down to others.

As I was praying today I saw the pool, and the waterfall, and the other waterfalls flowing down.  And I pictured myself in the pool.  I’m not a good swimmer, but in my prayer I was swimming down, deeper in the pool.  I embraced the water all around me, going deeper.  I could feel the water pressing in and the purity of it as I went deeper.  Though I was deep, I wasn’t afraid.  Though I was deep, it wasn’t too dark.  I could look up, and through the grace and love and peace and wisdom and blessings I was surrounded by, and I could see the light above.

And I wanted to go deeper still.  I think I will get there.  Maybe not this year, but someday.  In the Narnia series of books that C.S. Lewis wrote, in the last book, after the characters have entered Aslan’s land (though they don’t know it yet), one of them states “Further up and further in!”  I have always remembered that phrase. It is what I feel led to do.  Go further up in my walk; go further in, closer to God.

Posted January 24, 2017 by Maureen in Christian, Musings, Randomness

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

