GIFTS   Leave a comment

I’ve had some time off at the end of the year, before and after Christmas.  It is a perk and a blessing of my job that I can take this time off.  I’ve so enjoyed it!  One of the things God has done during this time is work more healing in me.  I didn’t know I needed it, but He did.  I feel more healed from my dear husband’s passing.  I no longer have daily crying jags.  My memories are more often happy and comforting rather than sad and depressing.  Praise be to God, my healer and provider!

I am going to try to post weekly, at least in January.  I usually wait until I have something to say to post on this blog, but I will try a weekly post and see how it goes.  What do you think?

Something our Pastor’s wife shared on Sunday is what I want to share with you this week.  It may be that you have heard this already, but it was new to me.  She was paraphrasing from what she was told by someone she knows, so I am going to pass along that paraphrasing.

Imagine that you have died and gone to heaven.  At last!  St Peter is there to meet you, and offers to show you around a bit. You walk through the gate of pearl, on the street of gold.  You see trees and a river.  You see God on His throne.  As you walk you see mansions, but you also see large doors with names above them.  You stop — suddenly you see a door with your name.

“I want to go in there”, you tell St Peter.  “Oh, you don’t want to go in there”, St Peter says.  “Yes, I do. It has my name on it.  I want to see what’s in there.”  “Okay,” says St Peter with resignation.  “But you may be sorry.”

He opens the door and you look in.  It is a large, high ceilinged room, lined with shelves.  And on the shelves there are packages.  Gifts, really, because they are beautifully decorated and wrapped.  The most wonderful paper and with ribbons, and all of them are gorgeous.  You look around the whole room, at shelves and shelves of these beautiful gifts.  There are some empty spots on the shelves, but there are just so many gifts!

“What are all these?” you ask St Peter.  “Those are the gifts God had prepared for you and was ready to give you while you lived on the earth” he tells you.

“Oh!  I want to open them!” you exclaim.  Sadly, St Peter shakes his head.  “No, it is too late.  The boxes are all empty.”

See, it is not enough that you know God has good gifts to give his children.  It is not enough to know God is waiting to give His gifts to his precious children.  We have to receive them, and open them.  Unless or until we do, they just remain on the shelves, unopened.  Open your gifts this year.

Posted January 2, 2017 by Maureen in Musings, Stories

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

