MOONLIGHT   Leave a comment

I’ve been struggling with grief lately, but I don’t want to bore anyone with that again.  Instead, inspired again by a full moon, I wrote a poem.

I awoke.  What wakened me?

There was light from the windows

where there should be no light.

 

Rising, I wandered.

I went from window to window,

the light leading me on.

 

Where was it coming from?

What did it mean?

What made that light streaming in?

 

At last – I could see past the trees and houses

to the full moon hanging in the night sky.

 

Ah, moon!  You woke me up with your

shining moonlight.  You invaded my sleep

and opened my eyes

so I could stand and look up at you

shining, glowing in the heavens.

 

How I love the full moon!

A reminder, placed there by God,

that He loves us and watches over us

even when we sleep.

 

Contented, I returned to my bed

To lay down and dream in moonlight.

Posted June 23, 2016 by Maureen in Musings, Poems, Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

