What Do I Want To Be When I Grow Up?   Leave a comment

For many years I’ve told people I didn’t know what I wanted to be when I grew up.  Through my 30’s and into my 40’s and 50’s I would say this.  And it was true.

I had plans when I was a teenager.  Dreams.  My very first dream was to be a philanthropist.  Yup – I wanted to give money away.  I still think that would be the best, the coolest, the most awesome job in the whole entire world.  Sadly, God did not bless me with lots of money to give away.  So instead of many very large scale give-aways, I’ve been doing very small scale give-aways as I am able.

Other dreams included being a cameraman (woman), a helicopter pilot, a writer, an artist, and training therapy dogs.  And yet – I’ve never done any of those things.  Dabbled, yes.  A little here and there, yes.  But I have made my living in much different ways since I was 17 years old.

You hear and/or read all the time (well, I do) about people who chucked everything to follow their dream at (fill in the blank of an age, usually over 50).  Or they retired, and finally fulfilled their dream to (fill in the blank, usually a college education).  And I say – good for them!  Kudos!  Well done!

But I feel no need to do that for myself.  I don’t feel loss that I am not a great photographer or writer or artist.  I don’t regret that I’ve never owned a dog or have only ridden once in a helicopter.  No, I am content and satisfied with how God has lead me in my journey.  He has always known best, and I have been happy to let Him guide me and lead me along the path of His will.

What dreams do you have?

Posted November 5, 2015 by Maureen in Musings

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

