Today ….. and the future   Leave a comment

I’ve been spending a lot of time lately praying about 1) my future, 2) how I can bring people to Christ, and 3) how God wants to use the gifts and talents He gave me for his Glory.

I’ve been asking God if I should go back to teaching Sunday School or assisting in Children’s Ministries.  The church I attend now has a strong leader and seems to have enough teachers.  I have not gotten the impression that they need children’s workers, even though I know from past experience any children’s ministry always needs people.

What I keep getting back from God, it seems to me, is that I am to wait.  Right now, I believe God is telling me, my job for Him is to concentrate on being a wife to my husband.  Since that is something I love to do, I am happy to continue doing it.

I don’t remember where it is but somewhere in the Old Testament (Leviticus?) it talks about some guidelines for when men were to be part of the army. One of the exceptions listed is if a man is newly married.  The guideline is for him to take that first year off and be a husband – enjoy that time together, build the relationship, and no doubt make a baby.  Then he can go off to war.

I feel like that is me at this point.  I am to take this first year off.  Concentrate on being a wife and build our relationship.  (There will be no babies, no.  We are both too old for that and neither of us wants a baby. )

I don’t know what will happen after next January.  I don’t know if God wants me back in Children’s Ministries.  Or, if there is something else for me.  In the meantime, I am continuing to pray, and to listen for God’s direction.

Posted October 27, 2015 by Maureen in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

