Lately-Follow Up   Leave a comment

The mediation between my co-worker and I took place last week. I had prepared by thinking through conversations and also making a list for myself of all the important things I wanted to talk about. I prayed and asked God to please help me to speak the truth in love.

We were with the mediator 2 1/2 hours.  Which is a long time, but it went pretty fast.  When I opened my mouth to start talking what came out was not what I had been planning.  But we spent quite a bit of time talking about it, and when I was offered the chance to bring anything else up I brought up only one other thing on my list.

Since I had prayed about it and asked God to help me through this process, I felt I had said everything I needed to say, even though I didn’t say all the things I thought I wanted to say.  It was an environment where my co-worker could feel safe without distractions and really listen to what I was saying.  And I think she did.  I think she really did see things from my perspective, and respect what I had to say.

Maybe nothing will change at work.  Maybe she will go right back to those habits that landed us in mediation after all.  But at least for that period of time I felt that what I was saying was listened to and respected and heard.

Posted October 8, 2013 by Maureen in Christian

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

