Dating and Job Hunting   Leave a comment

Dating is a lot like job hunting.  Or perhaps I should say: Job hunting is a lot like dating.
I’ve been looking at the job web sites for a few months, and I apply to maybe 3-4 jobs each month.  The expectation and excitement, followed by disappointment and feelings of rejection in my job hunt, are a lot like dating.
When you are looking for someone to date, seeking to connect with someone to do things with and possibly build a life with, you are filled with expectations and hopes.  When I had profiles on dating web sites and was searching profiles and came across someone I was interested in, I would read their profile in detail and pray about it.  I would send them an email or a smiley or flirt message (depending on the site and my interest).  Then I would wait in expectation for their reply.  Sometimes I would come across a profile that really interested me.  “This guy really sounds like we would be a good match!” I’d think.  I would carefully craft a message to them, and wait on pins and needles for a response.  Feeling like a little kid again, I would sometimes feel as if the little girl inside of me was jumping up and down saying, “Pick me!  Pick me!”
I have found job hunting to be very much like that.  If only an employer would just really SEE my qualifications and experience!  If they would just give me a chance I just know I could be a really excellent employee and a good fit for their opening.  I am realistic about my qualifications and experiences, and I know I am a good employee with a lot of things going for her.  (“Put me in, coach!  I want to play!”).
But, like my dating experiences, instead I have found a lot of rejection and disappointment.  Sometimes I get the sense employers do look at my resume and cover letter, and for whatever reason they decided not to even give me an interview.  Other times I hear nothing back from my application.  (So rude when that happens, employers!  Sheesh – email is free and the least you can do is send a canned email.)
But since I know I have things to offer and I know I am a good employee, I keep on looking and sending out resumes.  Struggling with rejection and disappointment, I continue to pray about it and search for a good fit for me, and my future employer.
Posted July 24, 2013 by Maureen in Being Single, Musings

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

