Faith   Leave a comment

I have the gift of faith.  I cannot remember a time in my life when I did not believe in God.  It is often hard for me to explain my faith to people, to express my faith in ways that people, especially non-Christians, can understand.

I’m in the midst of reading a series by one author, and the two central characters in these stories have three kids.  Their oldest is a pretty devout Catholic, and she was explaining to her (born Jewish, now atheist) father about how she gets through the really hard times in life.  In the story, one of her good friends just had her parents murdered.

“Oh, I’m different.  I have all this support.  I have faith, I’m in a community of believers, I have all kinds of rituals and practices that would make something like that bearable…….. all this would have drove me bananas if I hadn’t had the faith.  I mean, death is not the same thing, if you do.”

The Bible says all we need is a tiny bit of faith, and God can do the rest.  Faith as small as the period at the end of this sentence.  He can do the rest.

My faith has gotten me through many things in my life.  I am so grateful for the power of God, who can do all things in me and through me, because of my faith.

Posted April 30, 2013 by Maureen in Christian, Musings

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

