Newness   Leave a comment

I’m going to be traveling back to Washington State next week.  I’ll be spending a few days with my friends.  It means lots of eating out, but it also means catching up and sitting down face-to-face with dear friends, some of whom I’ve known over 30 years.  I have been planning the trip for a year and I’m really looking forward to it.

Spring, and April in particular, always means newness to me.  New leaves on the trees.  New flowers.  New grass.  New babies (I’m a great-aunt again!).  New plants to buy for the yard.  Something new to wear for Easter service.  Even the air and sky seem new.  It also means another year older for me, as my birthday is at the beginning of April.

I have been reading the Bible all the way through since I became a born-again Christian, oh, over 25 years ago it has been now.  It usually takes me over a year to finish.  I have done different kinds of reading and Bible studies, most recently reading my Study Bible as I read through the books and passages.  For a few years now I have wanted to read the Bible in sequence.

Well, as you probably know, you can find most anything on the internet.  I found a site that breaks up the books into historical order.  What a blessing it has been!  The Bible is never old to me — it is always new.  It doesn’t matter how many times I have read it; I always get new things from the words.  I am thoroughly enjoying my slow reading through the Bible in historical order.  You can find the list I am using on www.blueletterbible.org/reader/daily

I wish you newness and blessings during this Spring and Easter season.

Posted March 29, 2012 by Maureen in Christian, Musings

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

