‘Tis the Season   Leave a comment

Ah, December.  That time of year when the weather is colder, everyone looks back on the previous year, we pick which holiday parties we are going to, and I gain 10 pounds.

It’s the Christmas cookies.  I am a cookie monster from my early childhood, and Christmas cookies are the best!  And the pie.  Can’t forget the pie.  Oh, and eggnog lattes at Starbucks.  With a pumpkin scone, ‘natch!  December is a time when I spend too much, eat too much, and when January rolls around I always face the consequences of my high credit card bill and tight clothes.

Each year it is the same.  Except for this one thing:  this year I have a sweetheart.  It will be my first Christmas with my honey.  Since he calls himself an atheist and was raised Jewish the whole Christmas thing is almost nulled, but still — we will be together during “The Holidays” – that all important time of the year.  We sailed easily through Thanksgiving and I have no doubt Christmas will be the same.

‘Tis the season.  And this season, I will have a very special someone to be with.  And for that I’m thankful.

Posted December 9, 2011 by Maureen in Being Single, Musings

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

