Husband? Or Dog?   1 comment

I really don’t like being single.  It was never my intention to be single most of my life.  I miss a lot of things about not being married.  I have also really missed having a dog in my life.  My little sister moved to Oregon and took her dogs with her, and no one else in the family has dogs.  I need my doggy fix! I have had a pet for the past 20+ years, but the last time I had a dog I was living with my parents. 

I have had such a hard time finding a suitable man who is husband material.  So the question is: should I keep looking, or get a dog?

A question I always have when making decisions is: Is this God’s will for me?  Will it honor God?  I want to stay on the path of God’s will for my life.  I don’t want to stray, and I don’t want to try to “help” God by doing something I think might be right but actually hinders His plan for me.  So while I would like a husband or a dog (both?  hmmmmm) I am still searching on what would keep me in God’s will. 

I am searching for both.  To hedge my bet?  Well, no.  I seach for both while praying about it and going slowly so that I can better discern God’s will.  If I wanted to be married I could have been a long time ago.  I wouldn’t have been happy or in God’s will, but I would have been married.  I could have had several dogs by now if I just wanted a dog.  But having a dog that does not get along with small children (my great-nephew is 3) or cats (there are 2 in the house) would only make my life miserable.

So…… the search continues.  Husband?  Or Dog?  Which will I find first?  I don’t even dare to think I might find one and then the other, or both together.  That would be just too wonderful to contemplate.

Posted April 11, 2011 by Maureen in Being Single, Christian

Tagged with , , , ,

One response to “Husband? Or Dog?

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Maybe you will want to get a facebook button to your blog. I just bookmarked the article, however I had to complete this by hand. Simply my $.02 🙂

Leave a Reply

