All I ever get are friends   3 comments

I’ve been trying the online dating thing for three years now.  I’ve had mixed experiences.  Mostly bad.  A few really bad.  Some weird.  Scammers.  Lots of scammers.  I’ve learned quite a lot about myself, and about dating.  My heart’s desire has been to get married again.  Not a hard thing to do on the surface, but in actuality….. very hard.  At least for me.  If I had been willing to compromise my integrity and faith….. well, my – I could have been married many times over.  It is not hard to meet men online.  It is meeting and being compatible with the right man that I have been unable to do.  I know myself well enough to know what would work best for me.  And I wasn’t willing to compromise on that.

So I have searched, and gotten shot down again and again.  Yes, I did my share of shooting down.  And since this year (2011) seems to be my year of getting back in gear, stepping up the pace, getting back in the groove, doing more ministry again —— I find, looking back, that what I got from the last three years of dating were……………. friends.

Not that there is anything wrong with friends.  But remember the goal was to find a husband.  I have had four brothers and two brothers-in-law — I don’t really need another man in my life that I think of in brotherly terms.  And yet, that is what God keeps bringing into my life over and over and over.  I may be slow, but I’m not stupid.

I seem to make a good friend.  A pal.  A good listener.  I give encouragement and provide laughs and give insight into the female mind.  I just don’t seem to be good enough that anyone wants me for a wife.  I don’t know what it is I lack.  No one has been able to tell me, and God has not revealed it to me.  But there is something about me that invites people to be friends with me, and then leave me behind when they get married and start their new life.  It has happened, literally, too many times for me to count.

So, soon, I’m going to leave the search for a husband.  Unless something drastic happens I will be calling it quits.  Hmmm…. might need to change the name of this blog, eh?

Posted February 5, 2011 by Maureen in Being Single, Christian, Musings

Tagged with , , ,

3 responses to “All I ever get are friends

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. interesting post…i guess i find a lot of similarities in my life minus the good Christian part…and minus the online dating part…but you sound like a very genuine person and that’s hard to find these days…wish you well

  2. yeah nice

  3. I can definitely relate. I tend to be friends with men and watch as they move onto better women I suppose. I have been married but it wasn’t what I thought it would be. I had dreams of the simple things…love, teamwork, a house, a yard…evenings on the porch (assuming I had a porch)…instead it was a disaster. I really want a husband too but have no idea how to do this. I hope it all works out for you. Love your blog:)

Leave a Reply

