Witness   Leave a comment

I was raised in a large Catholic-Irish family.  We went to church on a regular basis.  Being raised in the Catholic church instilled in me a deep reverence and respect for God and His church.  I don’t remember a time in my life when I did not believe in God – the creator of the heavens and earth.  Our heavenly father and his son Jesus and the Holy Spirit.

When I became an adult I married a Catholic man.  We went to church together and had the same faith, but our marriage ended after a few short years.  I was invited to a Christian Singles group by a friend.  Wanting to adult fun things without doing a bar scene, I started attending the group.  I noticed most of the people there had something I didn’t.  I didn’t know what it was, but I knew I wanted it.  I enjoyed the group a lot and met some really terrific people.

One of the people I met was a man named Ed.  I stopped by the house Ed shared with others one evening at his invitation.  It was not a date – we had been talking about books at a meeting and Ed had said he had a lot of Christian books.  Having been an avid reader since I was in the 3rd grade I was fascinated that there were Christian books out there.  I was eager to read them.  Ed let me look through his whole book collection, and I eagerly pulled books that caught my eye until I had a pile on the floor.  He eyed the pile and remarked that some of those books were kind of heavy reading, and was I sure I wanted to do this?  I assured him I did.

One of the first books I read (probably because it was also one of the shortest) was “How to Live Like a Kings Kid” by Harold Hill.  In that book was a “sinners prayer”.  A simple prayer of confession and belief, asking God to forgive me and asking Jesus to be my personal Lord and Savior.  THAT was it!  This was the something that others in the group had that I didn’t.  I knew this was what I was looking for.  I said the prayer to myself, sitting at the kitchen table in my apartment by myself.

Immediately I felt a peace come over me, and love flow through me.  The knot of anxiety and fear and doubt that had been a part of me and a lump in my gut as long as I remember was gone.  Smiling, I continued reading. 

Since that time I have sought God, and found him.  I have discovered the names of the gifts God gave to me before I was born, and I have tried to use them to bring glory to His name and spread His love.  I have continued to grow in my faith and knowledge of God and his Word.  I have not always walked closely with God, but my faith is a strong rock, my bedrock on which my life stands, and even if I should forsake all else I cannot ever forsake my faith and belief in God, the creator almighty, maker of heaven and earth and everything in them. 

I thank God that He forgave me my sins and that I have accepted Jesus God’s only son personally for myself as my Lord and Savior.  Do you want the same thing?  Do you also want to be free and forgiven, to have joy and love?  Say this prayer, or use your own words to say these words:

“I confess that I am sinner and that nothing I can do or say can take away those sins.  I believe in the one God, the creator of everything seen and unseen.  I believe that God sent his only son Jesus into the world as a man, who lived and then died on the cross and was ressurrected.  God please forgive me of my sins.  I accept Jesus into my heart and life as my Savior. Reveal your Word to me and help me to use the gifts you have given me to bring glory to you.”

Posted December 6, 2010 by Maureen in Christian

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

