Old School   Leave a comment

I went to my old high school the other day.  It is now a continuation high school and the facilities are also used for other things.  I attended an all-day meeting there.

I hadn’t been inside the campus since I graduated in…… well, it was over 30 years ago.  It was good to be back. Things had changed, but things also hadn’t.  The lockers were gone, but the old pool area was there, with the ramps at one end.  The pools were empty.  The old rectangle where most everyone hung out at lunch was there.  Same trees?  Hard to tell, but they were not new trees.

The whole place looked a little bit worn and in need of some fix-up.  Hmmm…. reminds me of — ME.  I scratched an itch and went up to stand on the corner where the jocks always hung out.  How we used to hate walking by there, since they all stared at and checked out the girls.  Yet, we also liked it.  There was the part of the square where a guy I liked (A LOT) my year in high school used to hang out with his buddies.  And there was the part where “couples” used to sit.  The spot where my girlfriends and I used to sit. 

Same old, same old.  Am I the same old, same old Maureen that spent so many years (it seemed more than it was) in that place?  In some ways I am.  In others I am not.  And it is all good.  I would not want to go back to the girl I was.  I am happy with the woman I am.  Flaws and blemishes and mistakes as I am.  I am happier and more content in my own skin now than I was then. 

I don’t want to trade that, or go back.

Posted November 12, 2010 by Maureen in Memories

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

