Sunsets   Leave a comment

Back from being unplugged for a bit.  I drove home last night from Sacramento.  It was my first time visiting the State capital.  I’ve been through it on the freeway, but this was the first time I spent any time there.  My sister told me the city is known for having a lot of trees.  Did you know that?  I didn’t. 

I didn’t have time or inclination to explore, but what I saw was beautiful.  By 4:00pm Sunday evening the businesses around the hotel where I stayed were closed.  Hmmm…. haven’t seen that since I was in Tenessee.  It was very warm but not unbearably hot.  Monday there was a stiff breeze blowing.

On the way back…. traffic was good my way.  It was very clear – no clouds.  And we had one of our clear fall days.  No smog – you could see clear across the Bay, all the way north and south and east.  Very beautiful views of the Bay coming south on I80.  Driving across the Bay Bridge the sun was about a half hour from setting.  The sun played peek-a-boo with the high rises through downtown, bathing everything with a backlight of yellow and orange.  The Bay was smooth, so there were no wind surfers off Berkeley.

Then Highway 1, over and around and down the other side of the coastal hills, and that view from the top of the hill of the coastline with the ocean going all the way to the horizon, all the way west and north and south.  The sun had lost almost all of it’s yellow, it was lower in the sky and a big ball of red and orange.  There was light fog over the coastline.  Not the fog we so often get, rolling in via clouds, pushed by the wind, continuously pouring in, over the hills, swirling and being pushed and dissapated.

No, this was a light fog, like a fine gauze.  Once you got down off the hill it hung lightly in the air, just enough so you sometimes caught a glimpse of a reflection from a street light on it, or saw its flimsy presence over an open field.  Off went the air conditioner and on went the heater.  Off went the sunglasses.  Then, finally, pulling in the driveway.  The small crescent moon hung brightly in the sky.  A deli roast beef sandwich awaited me, as well as my furry girl Belle and my own bed, and my slippers.

It was a very nice sunset.

Posted October 12, 2010 by Maureen in Memories, Musings

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

