Sun in my eyes   Leave a comment

The time between the solstice and when daylight savings kicks in is when the sun is most in my eyes, driving in the morning and evening.  The sun is at just the right angle in the morning when I’m on the road to work to hit me square in the eyes as I’m coming up the hill, ready to go over and hit I101.

When there aren’t any clouds in the way, you come around that one corner and WHAMMO!  Right in the eyes a laser beam of red/orange, blinding you to all else.  If I am paying attention and remember, I can quickly avert my eyes to the lines and dots separating the lanes and keep my eyes on that, avoiding swerving into the divider or the other lane, while I am otherwise blinded and can’t see out the main part of the windshield.  Then the road curves again and the sun is blocked and I can check to make sure I have, in fact, not drifted dangerously to either side, and check the cars around me.  When I am not paying attention, that laser beam of sunlight and subsequent panicky visible groping can shoot my blood pressure up pretty high.

And in the evening it never ceases to amaze me the number of people who don’t turn their lights on when the sun is starting to go down.  When there is cloud cover and/or fog (an almost-daily thing where I live) it is astounding the number of people blithely driving in dark or very light cars without their lights.  They simply fade into the evening light and cloud cover, sneaking up on you unexpectedly when you try to change lanes or slow down for traffic.

In the Spring we get to do all of this all over again, except the time change comes before the solstice so the sun blinding me is not as much an issue.  I do like seeing the sun change position with the seasons, and seeing it at different times during the year as I drive to and from work.  I enjoy the full sunrise in the summer, the not-quite sunrise during the winter, the just-sunrise in the Fall.  Always something new to see, and a new view to enjoy, and new sky wonders to praise God for as we change from season to season.

Posted October 4, 2010 by Maureen in Randomness

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

