Weekends – Good or Bad?   Leave a comment

Weekends are not really a single gal’s friend.  At least not this single gal.  Oh, Saturdays I can stay busy.  Housework, I used to do homework (YEAH!  I’m graduated!), grocery shopping, errands.  Sunday mornings are filled with Sunday School and church service. 

But I have to plan my weekends ahead of time.  Plan things to do.  Even make lists.  Because the weekends can be lonely.  Even living with my sister and nephew and two cats as I do, I can get lonely without a husband.  So I write things down to do.  I plan Fun! Things! to do — try to generate excitement about them during the week.  “Come on!  You’ll have fun doing that!”  “Won’t that be great to try?”  “You know you’ll like it!” 

And then when it comes right down to it……. I almost always don’t.  Because I dislike having to do it alone.  Now, sleeping in is great.  Weekends are terrific for that.  Especially on days like today when I can naturally fall back asleep for another hour to an hour and a half and wake up in full sunlight.  Aaaahhhhhh…….  To lay in bed snug and warm, knowing I don’t have to get up and DO something.  I love that.

For me, Sunday afternoons are the worse.  I love teaching Sunday School and it never fails to excite me and stimulate me, teaching 3rd – 5th graders.  Then service, where I can sing and greet my friends and say hello to new people and hear the message.  It is lonely sitting alone, but I’m also used to it and it does not distract from my pleasure at being in church with God’s people, singing His praises and learning more about Him.  But then I go home.  And the afternoon and evening s-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-s before me.  It is very hard for me to be motivated to do anything of consequence after church, the let down is so strong.  So I struggle with that every week.  Sometimes I allow myself to feel down, and just make a nest on the couch.  I’ll turn on the TV sometimes, or read a book.  But other times I’ll try to shake it off and do at least a little something around the house – there is always something to do.  Or some project to work on. 

Weekends, yeah.  Love not having to work.  Love sleeping in.  Don’t love the lonelinesss.

Posted October 2, 2010 by Maureen in Being Single

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

